top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Taylor

Pinecone Christmas Tree Decorations

Updated: Apr 25, 2021

I've been trying to get this post away since the middle of December, however, Levi must be going through some 18-month sleep regression or something.

He does not go to sleep before I do!


If like me, you have 100 pinecones lying around your living room, in which case you probably have small children or just a small cat. Why not turn them into Christmas decorations? It is a great way to have less to pick up every day - yay!

Well unless your small cat takes them off the tree - like mine!





Using materials from the typical craft kits you can buy, we managed to make a Snowy owl, a Robin, a Reindeer and some 'bobbly bobble' decoration. The only extras we needed was cotton wool, glue and string if you want to hang them.


They are so easy for wee hands to do. Adults or older ones can cut out shapes from felt/old fabric or card, and the wee ones can stick them on. We used PVA glue because it was all we had and I'm not quite brave enough to let Jared with a loose with a glue gun.




To make the owl above, Jared used a pencil to stuff the pinecone with cotton wool and stick a cotton ball on for its head.


He stuck on felt for its beak and wings (which I cut out) and gave it googly eyes. I finished it for him with some pen detail and tied some string to it for hanging on the tree. I would have used old buttons for eyes, but for Jared, the googlies were a must. We had some pipe cleaners in the kit, so I folded a halved one into a ‘W’ shape for feet and slid them in a gap at the bottom.


For our Reindeer decorations we used a Pom-pom for a big red nose and a pipe cleaner for antlers. If I didn't have craft materials to use up, I would have used little twigs for this. I think that would have looked lovely!



Below are the other decorations we made. I think tomorrow we will make more owls, a less freaky looking robin and a hedgehog.




The possibilities are endless!


57 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page